Vintage-Themed Wedding

I have a confession: I love weddings.

I might hate sappy korean dramas and cheesy flowers (but never chocolate…because who hates chocolate?), but there’s something about weddings that just makes me have a goofy smile on my face. Maybe its the vows, the bride’s dress, or maybe even the food (because let’s be honest here. Sometimes I do go to weddings only for the food.)

But this last wedding was very special not only because it was for the daughter of a dear family friend, but also because the theme was 1920’s/Gatsby–my favorite era!

I had a lot of fun dressing up for the wedding–I even made my puppy dress classy for the day. (She’s quiet the fashionista eh?)

DSC_0049

 

Even though it was Gatsby themed, I didn’t want to seem too costume-ish, especially since it was for a wedding and not a halloween party. So I had to tone it down and this is what I came up with:

DSC_0076

DSC_0081

DSC_0078

Here are some tips for dressing up for any vintage occasion–be it a wedding or just a fun party!

 

20140525_131250

1. Choose a looser dress that hugs the hips instead of the waist. Many modern dresses clinch high in the waist but flapper dresses are looser and flare out on the bottom.

20140525_131729

2. It was chilly when I left this early morning so I stole a vintage jacket from my mother (sh…don’t tell). This jacket from Ann Taylor is lightweight and perfect for chillier summer days. Try going for tweed jackets or retro prints.

3. I decided to curl my hair for a more vintage look because it makes my hair shorter and the style back then favored shorter bobs. Girls with long hair can try curly side-buns! You can also add a flapper headband to add more flare! I didn’t want to seem to costume-ish so I just added berets 🙂

 

Et voila–a vintage look for a Gatsby/1920’s themed wedding. Happy wishes to the new couple! =]

 

2014-05-24 22

DSC_0077

 

 

Some pictures of the cuteness from the wedding!

The white decorations and flowers reminded me of the part where we first see Daisy surrounded by white curtains 🙂

DSC_0070

 

Party favors: books! Such a creative idea 🙂

DSC_0074

DSC_0073

 

My puppy being bashful and hiding in the grass. She’s probably eyeing her crush. 😉

DSC_0053

 

Leave a Reply

