DIY: How to Make Your Own Snapbacks

Summer is finally here! I have been so lazy…I basically have been doing nothing. Like seriously…I just sit there sometimes and wonder if I should be doing something useful with my life like my other friends who are finding jobs or doing internships. But then I see my bed and my inner sloth comes out so I take a nap. When I wake up, it’s like the desire to do something productive never really existed.

 

Speaking of doing nothing…I haven’t posted in such a long time 😥
My photographer is currently partying it up on a cruise to Alaska (without me may I add.) Alas. What to do to keep the fashion inspirations going?

DIY fashion projects! 😀

 

I’m on a hiphop dance team and all the guys wear really cool snapbacks. They always look so cool it kinda makes me jealous. I have been searching stores and online for the perfect snapback but haven’t really been able to find a hat cool enough. So I decided to just make my own 🙂

 

1. Buy a plain snapback. I got mine from an Amazon search and it was dirt cheap. Also get some different sized permanent markers ranging from thin, medium and thick.

20140409_124232

 

2. You can sketch out a design on paper before permanently drawing on the hat. I just YOLO-ed it and used a thin sharpie to sketch out a design.
I decided to design both the top and bottom of the bill just to give it a little oomph.

20140409_124249

 

3. Use the medium size and thick size sharpies to fill out the design.

20140409_124737

 

4. The sharpies don’t stand out as much expected despite being permanent. To really make the design pop out, I just went over the design with black acrylic paint and white acrylic paint.

20140410_191943

 

5. Your hat is going to smell pretty bad–sharpie fumes and acrylic paint fumes don’t make a good combination. What I did was put a few laundry sheets along with the hat in a plastic bag and sealed it off for a couple of days to get rid of the fumes. When I took it out, it not only looked really great, but also smelled like fresh laundry 🙂

 

Et voila! A simple and easy DIY project to make your own snapback. 🙂

Happy summer everybody!

20140414_124603

Leave a Reply

