DIY Great Gatsby Top

Confession: I am a super huge nerd. Chemistry puns, literary jokes–I kinda love em all.

I also love clothes that incorporate books or famous quotes. One of my favorite books back in high school was Great Gatsby. I was looking at my book cover one day and I thought, that would an awesome shirt! So I bought some fabric paint, a 5 dollar cropped top from Forever XXI and painted it out. Not only was it fun to get artsy smartsy but, I now have an awesome shirt that satisfies my love for all things nerdy!

1

edit64

edit63

2

edit68

Designing your own shirt isn’t too difficult! All you need are some fabric paint (or acrylic!) and a shirt. I would also advise you to add some fabric medium to your paint so the shirt doesn’t stiffen up! There are a lot of other books besides Great Gatsby that would make amazing shirts like Catcher in the Rye or my favorite book, The Unbearable Lightness of Being!

3076999352_d074941646{F21B1AA9-119F-4608-A33E-6C7E8B9C9B68}Img100

After painting your own shirt, here are some extra tips in putting together an outfit!

    5

4

Et voila! A cute outfit perfect for my obsession with all things nerdy and bookish. Not only was it fun to get all artsy smartsy, but I also now have a perfect outfit to wear to the coffee shop to do some light reading!

3

edit66

  edit65

 edit67

 edit69

Leave a Reply

